Marina Technical & Environmental Advisory Committee

A Marina Technical and Environmental Advisory Committee, made up of representatives from state agencies, the marine trade industry and the recreational boating and environmental communities, provides guidance to the Virginia Clean Marina Program and assists in providing information and technical assistance to marinas, local governments and recreational boaters in Virginia's coastal areas.

The committee developed a guidebook for marinas - Virginia Clean Marina Guidebook - that provides steps marina operators and recreational boaters can take to protect and improve Virginia's coastal waters.

The committee also assists in the program's marina designation process and works with the Virginia Marina Technical Advisory Specialist. For general information about the program, please call 804-684-7768.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

George Bruner

General Boating Public

804/270-6170

Brunerga@verizon.net

Shawn Smith

Virginia Dept. of Conservation & Recreation - Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance

804/371-0609

shawn.smith@dcr.virginia.gov

Ken Knull

Yankee Point Sailboat Marina

804/462-7018

ken@yankeepointmarina.com

Shepard Moon, Jr.

Virginia Dept. of Environmental Quality/Coastal Planner

804/698-4527

Shep.Moon@deq.virginia.gov

Preston Smith

Virginia Dept. of Health

804/864-7468

preston.smith@vdh.virginia.gov

Tony Watkinson

Virginia Marine Resources Commission 

757/247-225

tony.watkinson@mrc.virginia.gov

David Rudders

VIMS/Virginia Sea Grant MEP

804/684-7531

rudders@vims.edu