World-class people in a world-class setting

The Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) is recognized worldwide for its expertise in coastal marine science. Our faculty and staff bring expertise from A to Z, including anatomists, biological oceanographers, computer modelers, ecologists, economists, ecotoxicologists, geneticists, geochemists, ichthyologists, immunologists, pathologists, physical oceanographers, taxonomists, wetland scientists, and zoologists.

Administrative Officers

Dr. Derek Aday Dean and Director
Dr. Mark Luckenbach, Associate Dean of Research and Advisory Services
Dr. Linda Schaffner, Associate Dean of Academic Studies
Marise Robbins-Forbes, Executive Director of VIMS Advancement & VIMS Foundation
Linda Rudy, Chief Financial Officer
Joseph Martinez, Chief Operations Officer

Department Chairs

Dr. Kim Reece, Aquatic Health Sciences
Dr. Deborah Steinberg, Biological Sciences
Dr. Mary Fabrizio, Fisheries Science
Dr. Courtney Harris, Physical Sciences

Center Directors

Dr. Jessica Small, Aquaculture Genetics and Breeding Technology Center (ABC)
Dr. Kirk Havens, Center for Coastal Resources Management (CCRM)
Dr. William Reay, Chesapeake Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve (CBNERR)
Dr. Richard Snyder, Eastern Shore Laboratory
Dr. David Rudders, Marine Advisory Program 
Dr. Troy Hartley, Virginia Sea Grant

Administrative Directors

Gary Anderson, Chief Information Officer and Director of Information Technology & Network Services
Betty Barrack, Budget Director, Office of Finance
Mark Brabham
, Director of Facilities Management

Carol Coughlin, Director of the William J. Hargis Library
Eric Fidler, Safety & Environmental Programs Manager
Dr. David Malmquist, Director of News & Media Services
Connie Motley, Director of Sponsored Programs
Carol Tomlinson
, Director of Financial & Administrative Services
Susan Maples, Director of Development
Timothy Turner, Director of Marine Operations

Administrative Contacts

ABC: Gail Holloman
Advancement (including Outreach): Lynn Swiger
Aquatic Health Sciences: Destiny Elliott
Biological Sciences: Karen Hargrave
CBNERR: Sally Lawrence Wood
CCRM: Dawn Fleming

Eastern Shore Laboratory: Hollis Parks
Facilities Management: Cindy Hornsby
Marine Operations/Vessels: Terri Major
Fisheries Science: Cindy Forrester
Graduate Program: Cathleen Cake
Marine Advisory Program: Cheryl Teagle
Physical Sciences: Cynthia Harris

Virginia Sea Grant: Sabine Rogers