VIMS 2022 Service Awards

The following remarks were read by Dean and Director Dr. Derek Aday during VIMS' annual Awards Ceremony on June 28, 2023 to honor recipients of the 2022 Service Awards. Citations for the 2022 Student Awards are also available.

Outstanding Employee Awards

The Outstanding Employee awards are chosen by nominations received by the Awards Committee from all faculty, staff, and students at VIMS.

Adrienne Tillman
Outstanding Faculty Teacher Award

This award recognizes a faculty member who has excelled in teaching, research, or advisory service. This year's winner is Mary Fabrizio.

Mentor Award

This award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated mastery of graduate-student mentoring. This year's award goes to Andrew Scheld.

Excellence Award

This award recognizes a staff member who continually goes above and beyond their assigned job duties to better the institution. The winner of this year's award is Lauren Gregg.

Freeman Volunteer of the Year Award

This award is named for the late Robert Mallory Freeman, a former VIMS Council member and avid supporter. The winner of the Freeman Award for 2022 is Alex Perez.