VIMS 2014 Service Awards

The following remarks were read by Dean and Director Dr. John Wells during VIMS' annual Awards Ceremony on May 1, 2015 to honor recipients of the 2014 Service Awards. Citations for the 2014 Student Awards are also available. You can view photos of the award winners, as well as share them on Facebook and Twitter, via the VIMS Flickr page.

Outstanding Employee Awards

The Outstanding Employee awards are chosen by nominations received by the Awards Committee from all faculty, staff, and students at VIMS.


The co-recipients of the 2014 Outstanding Employee in Facilities/Safety/Trades are Ms. Rebecca Sturgeon and Heather Gray.

Technical Support

The winner of the 2014 Outstanding Employee for Technical Support is Ms. Gail Scott.

Administrative Support

The winner of the 2014 Outstanding Employee for Administrative Support is Mr. Will Benton.

Freeman Volunteer of the Year Award

This award is named for the late Robert Mallory Freeman, a former VIMS Council member and avid supporter. The winner of the Freeman Award for 2014 is Mr. Ed Shepherd of Yorktown.