VIMS 2009 Student Awards

The following remarks were read by Dean and Director Dr. John Wells during VIMS' annual Awards Ceremony on May 7, 2010 to honor recipients of the 2009 Student Awards. Citations for the 2009 Service Awards are also available.

John E. Olney Sr. Ichthyology Award

The John E. Olney Sr. Ichthyology Award honors the distinguished career of the late Professor John Olney, and his unwavering dedication to fostering young marine scientists and ichthyologists. The recipient of this year's inaugural award is Jennifer Martin.

Kelley Watson Fellowship

The fellowship honors Kelley Watson, a member of the incoming class of September 2000. The recipient for 2009 is Jonathan Lefcheck.

Zeigler Student Achievement Award

The Zeigler Award honors the past contributions to student needs of Dr. John Zeigler, the first SMS Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, and the continuing contributions of Mrs. Marilyn Zeigler. This year's recipient is Da Chen.

William J. Hargis Jr. Fellowship Award

Former Dean and Director Bill Hargis established this award to recognize superior academic performance and exceptional promise in marine research. This year's recipient is Jaime Blackburn

Matthew Fontaine Maury Fellowship Award

This award was endowed by the late U.S. Navy Captain J. Maury Werth to honor his great-grandfather Matthew Fontaine Maury, a son of Virginia often referred to as the “Father of Oceanography” and the “Pathfinder of the Seas.” This year's recipient is Sarah Schillawski.

Best Student Paper Awards

Each year a committee of faculty and students chooses the best journal articles by VIMS graduate students. Papers are judged for scope of problem, degree of challenge, magnitude of effort, hypothesis formulation and testing, and style. This year's winners are Patrick Lynch and Jianmin Ye.