VIMS 2011 Student Awards

The following remarks were read by Dean and Director Dr. John Wells during VIMS' annual Awards Ceremony on May 4, 2012 to honor recipients of the 2011 Student Awards. Citations for the 2011 Service Awards are also available.

For pictures of the Awards Ceremony, visit the VIMS Flickr page.

John E. Olney Sr. Ichthyology Award

The John E. Olney Sr. Ichthyology Award honors the distinguished career of the late Professor John Olney, and his unwavering dedication to fostering young marine scientists and ichthyologists. The recipients of the 2011 Olney Award are Katie May Laumann, Casey Dillman, and Peter Konstantinidis.

Zeigler Student Achievement Award

The Zeigler Award honors the past contributions to student needs of Dr. John Zeigler, the first SMS Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, and the continuing contributions of Mrs. Marilyn Zeigler. This year's recipient is Samuel Lake.

Best Student Paper Awards

Each year a committee of faculty and students chooses the best journal articles by VIMS graduate students. Papers are judged for scope of problem, degree of challenge, magnitude of effort, hypothesis formulation and testing, and style. This year's winners are Patrick Dickhudt and Rob Condon.