World-class people in a world-class setting

The Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) is recognized worldwide for its expertise in coastal marine science. Our faculty and staff bring expertise from A to Z, including anatomists, biological oceanographers, computer modelers, ecologists, economists, ecotoxicologists, geneticists, geochemists, ichthyologists, immunologists, pathologists, physical oceanographers, taxonomists, wetland scientists, and zoologists.

Administrative Officers

Dr. John Wells, Dean and Director
Dr. Mark Luckenbach, Associate Dean of Research and Advisory Services
Dr. Linda Schaffner, Associate Dean of Academic Studies
Amy Fisher, Executive Director of VIMS Advancement & VIMS Foundation
Dr. DaNika Robinson, Chief Financial Officer
Joseph Martinez, Chief Operations Officer

Department Chairs

Dr. Kim Reece, Aquatic Health Sciences
Dr. Deborah Steinberg, Biological Sciences
Dr. Mary Fabrizio, Fisheries Science
Dr. Carl Friedrichs, Physical Sciences

Center Directors

Dr. Stan Allen, Aquaculture Genetics and Breeding Technology Center (ABC)
Dr. Carl Hershner, Center for Coastal Resources Management (CCRM)
Dr. William Reay, Chesapeake Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve (CBNERR)
Dr. Richard Snyder, Eastern Shore Laboratory
Dr. David Rudders, Marine Advisory Program 
Dr. Troy Hartley, Virginia Sea Grant

Administrative Directors

Gary Anderson, Chief Information Officer and Director of Information Technology & Network Services
Betty Barrack, Budget Director, Office of Finance
Mark Brabham
, Director of Facilities Management

Carol Coughlin, Director of the William J. Hargis Library
Tom Grose, Director of Safety & Environmental Programs
Stewart Lamerdin, Director of Marine Operations
Dr. David Malmquist, Director of News & Media Services
Connie Motley, Director of Sponsored Programs
Carol Tomlinson
, Director, Financial & Administrative Services

Administrative Contacts

ABC: Debbrah Pelata
Advancement (including Outreach): Karen Hargrave
Aquatic Health Sciences: Mike Ivey
Biological Sciences: Regina Burrell
CBNERR: Sally Lawrence Wood
CCRM: Dawn Fleming

Eastern Shore Laboratory: Linda Ward
Facilities Management: Cindy Hornsby
Marine Operations/Vessels: Terri Major
Fisheries Science: Cindy Forrester
Graduate Program: Cathleen Cake
Marine Advisory Program: Cheryl Teagle
Physical Sciences: Cynthia Harris

Virginia Sea Grant: Sabine Rogers