Award Categories

Diversity & Inclusion Award (any employee)

Outstanding Staff Awards (includes Hourly Employees) 

  • Facilities/Safety/Trades
  • Administrative Support
  • Technical Support

John M. & Marilyn Zeigler Student Achievement Award

Outstanding Professional/Professional Faculty Researcher Award  

Outstanding Professional/Professional Faculty Administrator Award

Outstanding Faculty Advisory Service Award

Excellence for VIMS Award (hourly, classified, operational, PPF employees)

Robert M. Freeman Volunteer of the Year Award


A panel of members of the Graduate Student Association will recommend finalists for the following award to the Associate Dean of Academic Studies and the Dean and Director for final review and selection:

  • Faculty Excellence in Mentoring Award

The Associate Dean of Academic Studies, Faculty members, and core course instructors decide the following four student awards: 

  • Matthew Fontaine Maury Student Fellowship Award
  • William J. Hargis, Jr. Fellowship Award
  • Craig L. Smith Memorial Educational Scholarship
  • Kelley Watson Fellowship

A panel of relevant faculty, generally including members of the Fisheries Department, will decide on the following award:

  • John E. Olney, Sr. Ichthyology Award

A panel of relevant faculty from the Department of Physical Sciences will decide on the following award: 

  • Nichols Student Travel Award