Wetlands Boards Contacts

Virginia's system for managing tidal wetlands resources is through local (town/city/county) wetlands boards comprised of volunteer citizens. The Virginia Marine Resources Commission acts as the wetlands board for localities that do not elect the local option.  Wetlands board members are responsible for decisions regarding the use, alteration, or development of tidal-wetlands, and in some cases coastal primary sand dunes and beaches.

Wetlands are the critical link between water and land.  When wetlands are in danger, so are the coastal communities that surround them.  Local Wetlands Boards are tasked with "balancing the preservation and use of tidal wetlands in order to protect the ecosystem services they provide"

For those localities without an active wetlands board, the VMRC contact is listed.

Accomack County

Wetlands Board Staff: Chontese Ridley
Telephone Number: (757) 787-5728
cridley@co.accomack.va.us

County of Accomack Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 93
Accomac, Virginia 23301

Meeting: 4th Thursdays, 10:00 AM – Board Chambers County Administration Building

VMRC Contact: Hank Badger
Telephone Number: (757) 414-0710
hank.badger@mrc.virginia.gov

Alexandria

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Arlington

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Cape Charles

Wetlands Board Staff: James Hozey
Telephone Number: (804) 331-3259
jhozey3@cvalaska.net

Town of Cape Charles
Cape Charles Wetlands Board
2 Plum Street
Cape Charles, Virginia 23310
Telephone Number: (804) 331-3259

Meeting: As Needed

VMRC Contact: Hank Badger
Telephone Number: (757) 414-0710
hank.badger@mrc.virginia.gov

Caroline

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Charles City

Wetlands Board Staff: Denise Williams
Telephone Number: (804) 652-4707
dwilliams@co.charles-city.va.us

Director of Planning and Economic
Development Charles City County
P.O. Box 66
10900 Courthouse Road
Charles City, Virginia 23030

Meeting: 1st Mondays, 6:00 PM – County Administration Building

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov

Chesapeake

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Chesterfield County

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Colonial Heights

Wetlands Board Staff: Kelly Hall
Telephone Number: (804) 520-9275
hallk@colonialheightsva.gov

Colonial Heights Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
P.O. Box 3401
Colonial Heights, Virginia 23834

Meeting: As Needed

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Essex County

Wetlands Board Staff: Alwyn "Wyn" Davis
Telephone Number: (804) 443-3244
awdavis@essex-virginia.org

Essex County Wetlands Board
Department of Building & Zoning
P.O. Box 549
Tappahannock, Virginia 22560

Meeting: 4th Thursdays, 6:00 PM – School Board Meeting Room

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Fairfax County

Wetlands Board Staff: Erin Haley
Telephone Number: (703) 324-1380
erin.haley@fairfaxcounty.gov

Fairfax County Wetlands Board
Department of Planning & Zoning
12055 Government Center Pkwy, Suite #730
Fairfax, Virginia 22035-5505

Meeting: As Needed

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Falls Church

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Fredericksburg

Wetlands Board Staff: Tyler Gelles
Telephone Number: (540) 372-1179
trgelles@fredericksburgva.gov

Fredericksburg Wetlands Board
Planning & Community Development
P.O. Box 7447
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22404-7447

Meeting: Quarterly 7:00 PM – City Hall 2nd Floor Conference Room

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Gloucester County

Wetlands Board Staff: Ron Owens
Telephone Number: (804) 693-1217
rowens@gloucesterva.info

Environmental Program Administrator
Gloucester Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 329
Gloucester, Virginia 23061

Meeting: 2nd Wednesdays, 7:00 PM – Courthouse Office Building

VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2255
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Hampton

Wetlands Board Staff: Allison Eichele
Telephone Number: (757) 728-5233
allison.eichele@hampton.gov

Hampton Wetlands Board
Development Services Center
22 Lincoln Street
Hampton, Virginia 23669

Meeting: 4th Tuesdays, 5:00 PM – City Hall 8th Floor Council Chambers 

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov

Hanover

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Henrico

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov

Hopewell

Wetlands Board Staff: Tevya Griffin
Telephone Number: (804) 541-2269
tgriffin@hopewellva.gov

Hopewell Wetlands Board
Department of Development
300 N. Main Street
Hopewell, Virginia 23860

Meeting: 1st Thursdays, 6:00 PM – City Hall

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Isle of Wight County

Wetlands Board Staff: Kim Hummel
Telephone Number: (757) 357-9114
khummel@iwus.net

Zoning Administrator
Isle of Wight Wetlands Board
Department of Zoning
P.O. Box 80
Isle of Wight, Virginia 23397

Meeting: 3rd Mondays, 6:00 PM – Robert C. Claud, Sr. Board Room

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

James City County

Wetlands Board Staff: Mike Woolson
Telephone Number: (757) 253-6823
michael.woolson@jamescitycountyva.gov

James City County Wetlands Board
101 Mounts Bay Rd, Building E
Williamsburg, Virginia 23187

Meeting: 2nd Wednesdays, 5:00 PM – Building F

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov

King & Queen County

Wetlands Board Staff: David McIntire
Telephone Number: (804) 785-5975
dmcintire@kingandqueenco.net

King and Queen County
Environmental Codes
P.O. Box 177
King & Queen Courthouse, Virginia 23085

Meeting: 4th Tuesdays, 7:00 PM – General District Courtroom

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

King George County

Wetlands Board Staff: Michael Newchok
Telephone Number: (540) 775-8556
mnewchok@co.kinggeorge.state.va.us

King George Wetlands Board
King George County Admin Office
10459 Courthouse Drive, Suite #200
King George, Virginia 22485

Meeting: 4th Thursdays, 6:30 PM – Board Room Revercomb Building

VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2276
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

King William County

Wetlands Board Staff: Ron Etter
Telephone Number: (804) 769-4973
retter@kingwilliamcounty.us

King William County Wetlands Board
180 Horse Landing Road, #4
King William, Virginia 23086

Meeting: 2nd or 3rd Mondays, 9:30 AM – Board of Supervisors Meeting Room 

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Lancaster County

Wetlands Board Staff: Brian Barnes
Telephone Number: (804) 462-7581
bbarnes@lancova.com

Lancaster County Wetlands Board
8311 Mary Ball Road #105
Lancaster, Virginia 22503

Meeting: 2nd or 3d Thursdays, 9:30 AM (Varies) – Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, County Administration Building

VMRC Contact: Jay Woodward
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8032
jay.woodward@mrc.virginia.gov

Mathews County

Wetlands Board Staff: James Knighton
Telephone Number: (804) 725-1624
jknighton@mathewscountyva.gov

Mathews County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 839
Mathews, Virginia 23109

Meeting: 1st Wednesdays, 7:00 PM – Historic Courthouse, except July (TBD)

VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2255
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Middlesex County

Wetlands Board Staff: Marc Longest
Telephone Number: (804) 758-3382
m.longest@co.middlesex.va.us

Middlesex County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 428
Saluda, Virginia 23149

Meeting: 2nd Tuesdays, 9:00 AM – Woodward Building Board Room 

VMRC Contact: Jay Woodward
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8032
jay.woodward@mrc.virginia.gov

New Kent County

Wetlands Board Staff: Josh Airaghi
Telephone Number: (804) 966-8784
jcairaghi@newkent-va.us

New Kent County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 150
New Kent, Virginia 23124

Meeting: 1st Thursdays – County Adminsitration Building

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Newport News

Wetlands Board Staff: Sharon Neal
Telephone Number: (757) 933-2352
sneal@nnva.gov

Newport News Wetlands Board
Office of City Clerk
2400 Washington Avenue, 9th floor
Newport News, Virginia 23607

Meeting: 2nd Wednesdays, 1:00 PM – Council Chambers

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov

Norfolk

Wetlands Board Staff: Seamus McCarthy
Telephone Number: (757) 664-4363
seamus.mccarthy@norfolk.gov

City of Norfolk
City Planning
810 Union Street, Suite 505
Norfolk, Virginia 23510

Meeting: 3rd Wednesday,s 9:00 AM – Site Visits 10:00 Meeting

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Northampton County

Wetlands Board Staff: Katie Spady
Telephone Number: (757) 678-0443
kspady@co.northampton.va.us

Northampton County Wetlands Board
Department of Planning and Zoning
P.O. Box 538
Eastville, Virginia 23347

Meeting: 3rd Wednesdays, 10:00 AM 

VMRC Contact: Hank Badger
Telephone Number: (757) 414-0710
hank.badger@mrc.virginia.gov

Northumberland County

Wetlands Board Staff: Philip Marston
Telephone Number: (804) 580-8910
pmarston@co.northumberland.va.us

Northumberland County Wetlands Board
Office of Building & Zoning
P.O. Box 129
Heathsville, Virginia 22473-0129

Meeting: 3rd Wednesdays, 7:00 PM

VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2276
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

Petersburg

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Poquoson

Wetlands Board Staff: Karen Holloway
Telephone Number: (757) 868-3040
karen.holloway@poquoson-va.gov

Poquoson Wetlands Board
500 City Hall Avenue
Poquoson, Virginia 23662

Meeting: 3rd Wednesdays, 7:00 PM – Council Chambers

VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2255
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Portsmouth

Wetlands Board Staff: Stacy Porter
Telephone Number: (757) 393-8836
porters@portsmouthva.gov

Portsmouth Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
801 Crawford Street
Portsmouth, Virginia 23704-3822

Meeting: 1st Wednesdays, 3:00 PM – City Hall Conference Room 6th Floor

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Prince George County

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Prince William County

Wetlands Board Staff: Tom Dombrowski
Telephone Number: (703) 792-5534
tdombrowski@pwcgov.org

Prince William County Wetlands Board
Prince William County Public Works
5 County Complex Court, Suite 170
Prince William, Virginia 22192

Meeting: As Needed

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Richmond County

Wetlands Board Staff: Richard English
Telephone Number: (804) 333-5657
renglish@co.richmond.va.us

Wetlands Board
Building & Development Services
P. O. Box 1000
Warsaw, Virginia 22572

Meeting: 4th Thursdays, 7:00 PM – Public Meeting Room

VMRC Contact: Jay Woodward
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8032
jay.woodward@mrc.virginia.gov

Richmond City

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8028
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Spotslvania

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Stafford County

Wetlands Board Staff: Joseph Fiorello
Telephone Number: (540) 658-8689
jfiorello@staffordcountyva.gov

Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
P.O. Box 339
Stafford, Virginia 22555-0339

Meeting: 3rd Mondays, 6:00 PM – Board of Supervisors Chambers

VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2276
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

Suffolk

Wetlands Board Staff: Kevin Wyne
Telephone Number: (757) 514-4065
kwyne@suffolkva.us

Suffolk Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
441 Market Street
Suffolk, Virginia 23434

Meeting: 3rd Thursdays, 6:00 PM – Municipal Center Building

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Surry County

Wetlands Board Staff: William Saunders
Telephone Number: (757) 294-5212
wsaunders@surrycountyva.gov

Surry County Wetlands Board
Department of Planning & Development
P. O. Box 357
Surry, Virginia 23883

Meeting: As Needed

VMRC Contact: Rachael Peabody
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8027
rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov

Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach Wetlands Board Staff: David Compton
Telephone Number:(757) 385-8426
dcompton@vbgov.com

Virginia Beach Wetlands Board
Department of Planning & Community Development
2405 Courthouse Drive
Municipal Center, Building #2
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-9040

Meeting: 3rd Mondays, 8:45 AM – Briefing City Managers Conference Room; 10:00 AM – Formal Session City Council Chambers 

VMRC Contact: Justin Worrell
Telephone Number: (757) 247-8063
justin.worrell@mrc.virginia.gov

West Point

Wetlands Board Staff: Holly McGowan
Telephone Number: (804) 843-3563
hmcgowan@west-point.va.us

West Point Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 152
West Point, Virginia 23181

Meeting: 3rd Tuesdays, 6:00 PM – Council Chambers

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2251
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Westmoreland County

Wetlands Board Staff: Darrin Lee
Telephone Number: (804) 493-0120
dlee@westmoreland-county.org

Westmoreland County Wetlands Board
Land Use Administration
P.O. Box 1000
Montross, Virginia 22520

Meeting: 3rd Mondays, 1:30 PM – George D. English Memorial Building C

VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2276
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

Williamsburg

Wetlands Board Staff: Carolyn Murphy
Telephone Number: (757) 220-6133
cmurphy@williamsburgva.gov

Williamsburg Wetlands Board
Williamsburg Planning Dept.
401 Lafayette St.
Williamsburg, Virginia 23185

Meeting: Wednesday After City County Meeting, 3:30PM – Styker Center

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov

York County

Wetlands Board Staff: Anna Drake
Telephone Number: (757) 890-3774
drakea@yorkcounty.gov

York County Wetlands Board
Department of Public Works
P.O. Box 532
Yorktown, Virginia 23690

Meeting: 2nd Thursdays, 6:00 PM – Multipurpose Room Public Works Administration Building

VMRC Contact: Allison Lay
Telephone Number: (757) 247-2254
allison.lay@mrc.virginia.gov