More Information:
  • Directory
  • Maps and Directions
  • VIMS AtoZ

rounded corner

Home » News & Events » Top Stories » VIMS Special Awards

VIMS 2010 Special Awards

The following remarks were read by Dean and Director Dr. John Wells during VIMS' annual Awards Ceremony on May 6, 2011 to honor recipients of the 2010 Special Awards. Citations for the 2010 Student Awards are also available.

Outstanding Employee Awards

The Outstanding Employee awards are chosen by nominations received by the Awards Committee from all faculty, staff, and students at VIMS. They are awarded in the categories of Facilities/Safety/Trades, Research and Advisory Service, Technical Support, and Administrative Support.

The recipient of the 2010 Outstanding Employee in Facilities/Safety/Trades is Mr. Ron Herzick.


Research/Advisory Service
The recipient of the 2010 Outstanding Employee in Research and Advisory Service is Mr. Tom Murray.


Technical Support
The winner of the 2010 Outstanding Employee for Technical Support is Mr. Ed Keesee.


Administrative Support
The winner of the 2010 Outstanding Employee for Administrative Support is Ms. Linda Ward of the VIMS Eastern Shore Laboratory.


Outstanding Professionals and Professional Faculty Award
This award honors outstanding performance by a professional or professional faculty member at VIMS. The inaugural award goes to Ms. Diane Walker of the Hargis Library at VIMS.


Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award
This award recognizes a faculty member who has excelled in teaching, research, or advisory service. The recipient for 2010 is Dr. Elizabeth Canuel.


Freeman Volunteer of the Year Award
This award is named for the late Robert Mallory Freeman, a former VIMS Council member and avid supporter. The winner of Freeman Award for 2010 is Ms. Kelsey Bryant.