Award Categories

Outstanding Staff Awards (includes Hourly Employees) 

  • Facilities/Safety/Trades
  • Administrative Support
  • Technical Support


John M. & Marilyn Zeigler Student Achievement Award

Outstanding Professional/Professional Faculty Researcher Award  

Outstanding Faculty Teacher Award

Community Service Award

The Associate Dean of Academic Studies, Faculty members, and core course instructors decide the following four student awards: 

  • Matthew Fontaine Maury Student Fellowship Award
  • William J. Hargis, Jr. Fellowship Award
  • Craig L. Smith Memorial Educational Scholarship
  • Kelley Watson Fellowship

A panel of relevent faculty, generally including members of the Fisheries Department, will decide on the following award:

  • John E. Olney, Sr. Ichthyology Award

A panel of relevent faculty from the Department of Physical Sciences will decide on the following award: 

  • Nichols Student Travel Award

A committee from the Development Office will decide on a recipient of the following award: 

  • Robert M. Freeman Volunteer of the Year Award