Wetlands Boards Contacts

Virginia's system for managing tidal wetlands resources is through local (town/city/county) wetlands boards comprised of volunteer citizens. The Virginia Marine Resources Commission acts as the wetlands board for localities that do not elect the local option.  Wetlands board members are responsible for decisions regarding the use, alteration, or development of tidal-wetlands, and in some cases coastal primary sand dunes and beaches.

Wetlands are the critical link between water and land.  When wetlands are in danger, so are the coastal communities that surround them.  Local Wetlands Boards are tasked with "balancing the preservation and use of tidal wetlands in order to protect the ecosystem services they provide"

For those localities without an active wetlands board, the VMRC contact is listed.

Accomack County
Wetlands Board Staff: Chris Guvernator
cguvernator@co.accomack.va.us
County of Accomack Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 93
Accomac, Virginia 23301
Telephone Number: (757) 787-5728
Fax Number: (757) 787-8948
VMRC Contact: Hank Badger
Hank.Badger@mrc.virginia.gov
Alexandria

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Arlington

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Cape Charles

Wetlands Board Staff: Larry Dire
planner@capecharles.org
larry.dire@capecharles.org
Town of Cape Charles
Cape Charles Wetlands Board
2 Plum Street
Cape Charles, Virginia 23310
Telephone Number: (804) 331-3259
Fax Number: (804) 331-4820
VMRC Contact: Hank Badger
Hank.Badger@mrc.virginia.gov

Caroline

VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Charles City

Wetlands Board Staff: Rachel Chieppa
rchieppa@co.charles-city.va.us
Director of Planning and Economic
Development Charles City County
P.O. Box 66
10900 Courthouse Road
Charles City, Virginia 23030
Telephone Number: (804) 652-4707
Fax Number: (804) 829-5819
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Chesapeake

VMRC Contact: Rachael Maulorico
rachael.maulorico@mrc.virginia.gov

Chesterfield County

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Colonial Heights

Wetlands Board Staff: C Scott Davis
davis@colonialheightsva.gov
Colonial Heights Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
P.O. Box 3401
Colonial Heights, Virginia 23834
Telephone Number: (804) 520-9275
Fax Number: (804) 520-9338
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Essex County

Wetlands Board Staff: Wyn Davis
awdavis@essex-virginia.org
Essex County Wetlands Board
Department of Building & Zoning
P.O. Box 549
Tappahannock, Virginia 22560
Telephone Number: (804) 443-4951
Fax Number: (804) 443-4157
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Fairfax County

Wetlands Board Staff: MaryAnn Welton
mary.welton@fairfaxcounty.gov
Fairfax County Wetlands Board
Department of Planning & Zoning
12055 Government Center Pkwy, Suite #730
Fairfax, Virginia 22035-5505
Telephone Number: (703) 324-1364
Fax Number: (703) 653-9447
VMRC Contact:Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Falls Church

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Fredericksburg

Wetlands Board Staff: Kevin Utt
kwutt@fredericksburgva.gov
Fredericksburg Wetlands Board
Planning & Community Development
P.O. Box 7447
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22404-7447
Telephone Number: (540) 372-1080
Fax Number: (540) 372-1158
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Gloucester County

Wetlands Board Staff: Ron Owens
rowens@gloucesterva.info
Environmental Program Administrator
Gloucester Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 329
Gloucester, Virginia 23061
Telephone Number: (804) 693-1217
Fax Number: (804) 693-4664
VMRC Contact: Chip Neikirk
chip.neikirk@mrc.virginia.gov

Hampton

Wetlands Board Staff: Andrew Griffey
apgriffey@hampton.gov
Hampton Wetlands Board
Development Services Center
22 Lincoln Street
Hampton, Virginia 23669
Telephone Number: (757) 727-6210 or main (757) 728-2444
Fax Number: (757) 727-2449
VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Hanover

Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Henrico

Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Hopewell

Wetlands Board Staff: Tevya Griffin
tgriffin@ci.hopewell.va.us
Hopewell Wetlands Board
Department of Development
300 N. Main Street
Hopewell, Virginia 23860
Telephone Number: (804) 541-2269
Fax Number: (804) 541-2318
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Isle of Wight County

Wetlands Board Staff: Kim Hummel
khummel@iwus.net
Zoning Administrator
Isle of Wight Wetlands Board
Department of Zoning
P.O. Box 80
Isle of Wight, Virginia 23397
Telephone Number: (757) 357-9114
Fax Number: (757) 365-6207
VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

James City County

Wetlands Board Staff: Mike Woolson
michael.woolson@jamescitycountyva.gov
James City County Wetlands Board
101 Mounts Bay Rd, Building E
Williamsburg, Virginia 23187
Telephone Number: (757) 253-6866
Fax Number: (757) 259-4032
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

King & Queen County

Wetlands Board Staff: David McIntire
dmcintire@kingandqueenco.net
King and Queen County
Environmental Codes
P.O. Box 177
King & Queen Courthouse, Virginia 23085
Telephone Number: 804 785-5975
Fax Number: 804 785-5999
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

King George County

Wetlands Board Staff: Heather Hall
hhall@co.kinggeorge.state.va.us
King George Wetlands Board
King George County Admin Office
10459 Courthouse Drive, Suite #200
King George, Virginia 22485
Telephone Number: (540) 775-8550
Fax Number: (540) 775-3139
VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

King William County

Wetlands Board Staff: Bret Schardein
bschardein@kingwilliamcounty.us
King William County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 215
King William, Virginia 23086
Telephone Number: (804) 769-4969
Fax Number: (804) 769-4964
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Lancaster County

Wetlands Board Staff: Brian Barnes
bbarnes@lancova.com
Lancaster County Wetlands Board
8311 Mary Ball Road #105
Lancaster, Virginia 22503
Telephone Number: (804) 462-5129
Fax Number: (804) 462-0031
VMRC Contact: Jay Woodward
jay.woodward@mrc.virginia.gov

Mathews County

Wetlands Board Staff: Thomas Jenkins
tjenkins@mathewscountyva.gov
Mathews County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 839
Mathews, Virginia 23109
Telephone Number: (804) 725-1624
Fax Number: (804) 725-7249
VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Middlesex County

Wetlands Board Staff: John Settle
j.settle@co.middlesex.va.us
Middlesex County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 428
Saluda, Virginia 23149
Telephone Number: (804) 758-3382
Fax Number: (804) 758-0061
VMRC Contact: Jay Woodward
jay.woodward@mrc.virginia.gov

New Kent County

Wetlands Board Staff: Constance Bennett cjbennett@newkent-va.us
or Gail Carey gmscarey@newkent-va.us
New Kent County Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 150
New Kent, Virginia 23124
Telephone Number: (804) 966-9686
Fax Number: (804) 966-9370
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Newport News

Wetlands Board Staff: Sara Felker
jgrist@nnva.gov
Newport News Wetlands Board
Office of City Clerk
2400 Washington Avenue, 9th floor
Newport News, Virginia 23607
Telephone Number: (757) 933-2358
Fax Number: (757) 926-8599
City Clerk:  (757) 926-8634
VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Norfolk

Wetlands Board Staff: Seamus McCarthy
seamus.mccarthy@norfolk.gov
City of Norfolk
City Planning
810 Union Street, Suite 505
Norfolk, Virginia 23510
Telephone Number: (757) 664-4363
VMRC Contact: Rachael Maulorico
rachael.maulorico@mrc.virginia.gov

Northampton County

Wetlands Board Staff: Kelly Lewis
klewis@co.northampton.va.us
Northampton County Wetlands Board
Department of Planning and Zoning
P.O. Box 538
Eastville, Virginia 23347
Telephone Number: (757) 678-0443
Fax Number: (757) 678-0483
VMRC Contact: Hank Badger
Hank.Badger@mrc.virginia.gov

Northumberland County

Wetlands Board Staff: Philip Marston
pmarston@co.northumberland.va.us
Northumberland County Wetlands Board
Office of Building & Zoning
P.O. Box 129
Heathsville, Virginia 22473-0129
Telephone Number: (804) 580-8910
Fax Number: (804) 580-7053
VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

Petersburg

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Poquoson

Wetlands Board Staff: Karen Holloway
karen.holloway@poquoson-va.gov
500 City Hall Avenue
Poquoson, Virginia 23662
Telephone Number: (757) 868-3040
Fax Number: (757) 868-3105
VMRC Contact: Mike Johnson
mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov

Portsmouth

Wetlands Board Staff: Stacy Porter
porters@portsmouthva.gov
Portsmouth Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
801 Crawford Street
Portsmouth, Virginia 23704-3822
Telephone Number: (757) 393-8836
Fax Number: (757) 393-5230
VMRC Contact: Rachael Maulorico
rachael.maulorico@mrc.virginia.gov

Prince George County

VMRC Contact: Ben Stagg
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Prince William County

Wetlands Board Staff: Tom Dombrowski
tdombrowski@pwcgov.org
Prince William County Wetlands Board
Prince William County Public Works
5 County Complex Court, Suite 170
Prince William, Virginia 22192
Telephone Number: (703) 792-5534
Fax Number: (703) 792-7012
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Richmond County

Wetlands Board Staff: Richard English
renglish@co.richmond.va.us
Wetlands Board
Building & Development Services
P. O. Box 1000
Warsaw, Virginia 22572
Telephone Number: (804) 333-3415
Fax Number: (804) 333-3408
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Richmond City

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Spotslvania

VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Stafford County

Wetlands Board Staff: Joseph Fiorello
jfiorello@staffordcountyva.gov
or Mohan Karki mkarki@staffordcountyva.gov
Wetlands Board Department of Planning
P.O. Box 339
Stafford, Virginia 22555-0339
Telephone Number: (540) 658-8668
Fax Number: (540) 658-6824
VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

Suffolk

Wetlands Board Staff: David Parks
dparks@suffolkva.us
Suffolk Wetlands Board
Department of Planning
441 Market Street
Suffolk, Virginia 23434
Telephone Number: (757) 923-3650
Fax Number: (757) 539-7693
VMRC Contact: Rachael Maulorico
rachael.maulorico@mrc.virginia.gov

Surry County

Wetlands Board Staff: Rhonda Russell
rlrussell@surrycountyva.gov
Surry County Wetlands Board
Department of Planning & Development
P. O. Box 357
Surry, Virginia 23883
Telephone Number: (757) 294-5210
Fax Number: (757) 294-5297
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach Wetlands Board Staff: David Compton
dcompton@vbgov.com
Virginia Beach Wetlands Board
Department of Planning & Community Development
2405 Courthouse Drive
Municipal Center, Building #2
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-9040
Telephone Number:(757) 385-8246 and (757) 385-5790
Fax Number: (757) 385-5667
VMRC Contact: Justin Worrell
justin.worrell@mrc.virginia.gov

West Point

Wetlands Board Staff: Holly McGowan
hmcgowan@west-point.va.us
West Point Wetlands Board
P.O. Box 152
West Point, Virginia 23181
Telephone Number: (804) 843-3563
Fax Number: (804) 843-4364
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov

Westmoreland County

Wetlands Board Staff: Charles Wrightson
cwrightson@westmoreland-county.org
Westmoreland County Wetlands Board
Land Use Administration
P.O. Box 1000
Montross, Virginia 22520
Telephone Number: (804) 493-0120
Fax Number: (804) 493-0604
VMRC Contact: Jeff Madden
jeff.madden@mrc.virginia.gov

Williamsburg

Wetlands Board Staff: Carolyn Murphy
cmurphy@williamsburgva.gov
Williamsburg Wetlands Board
Williamsburg Planning Dept.
401 Lafayette St.
Williamsburg, Virginia 23185
Telephone Number: (757) 220-6133
Fax Number: (757) 220-6109
VMRC Contact: Mark Eversole
mark.eversole@mrc.virginia.gov

York County

Wetlands Board Staff: Anna Drake
drakea@yorkcounty.gov
York County Wetlands Board
Department of Public Works
P.O. Box 532
Yorktown, Virginia 23690
Telephone Number: (757) 890-3538
Fax Number: (757) 890-3759
VMRC Contact: Randy Owen
randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov